Kyle Busch Sits on Dover Pole

DOVER, DE – RIS - The same shower that ended Cup Series practice early brought a cancellation to qualifying, forcing competition officials to set the starting lineup by the NASCAR Rule Book. That elevated Busch’s No. 8 Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet to the No. 1 starting spot for Sunday’s Würth 400. 

“I’ll take it – starting up front, track position race, number one pit box – that’s super good to have here at Dover,” said Busch, whose Chevy was only 29th fastest in Saturday’s practice.

Cup Series points leader Christopher Bell will start second in the No. 20 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota. The next two rows will be occupied by a quartet of Ford drivers — Ryan Blaney, Brad Keselowski, Chris Buescher and Chase Briscoe in that order.

Keselowski was fastest overall in the dual practice sessions that preceded qualifying. His top lap was 158.660 mph on the 1-mile track in the No. 6 RFK Racing Ford.

Practice was marked by three single-car incidents, the most significant involving Austin Dillon’s No. 3 Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet. Dillon lost control entering the third turn and backed into the outside retaining wall. He was unhurt in the crash and will start Sunday’s 400-miler in a reserve car.

Turns 3 and 4 waw problematic for the Cup drivers.  Daniel Suárez went for a prolonged slide in his No. 99 Trackhouse Racing Chevrolet, and Erik Jones’ No. 43 Legacy Motor Club Chevy also skidded through the same corner. The second session was halted nearly three minutes short by light rain.

Starting Line Up: Würth 400, Dover Motor Speedway

Pos, Driver, Car, Team

1) Kyle Busch, 8, Lenovo Chevrolet

2) Christopher Bell, 20, Rheem Toyota

3) Ryan Blaney, 12, Wabash Ford

4) Brad Keselowski, 6, Wyndham Rewards Ford

5) Chris Buescher, 17, Fastenal Ford

6) Chase Briscoe, 14, Mahindra Tractors Ford

7) Tyler Reddick, 45, Ronald McDonald House Toyota

8) William Byron, 24, Chevrolet

9) Ricky Stenhouse Jr., 47, Kroger/Icy Hot Pro Chevrolet

10) Chase Elliott, 9, NAPA Auto Parts Chevrolet

11) Erik Jones, 43, Allegiant Chevrolet

12) Kevin Harvick, 4, Hunt Brothers Pizza/Realtree Ford

13) Denny Hamlin, 11, FedEx Office Toyota

14) Ross Chastain, 1, Jockey Chevrolet

15) Daniel Suarez, 99, Pitbull/Freeway Insurance Chevrolet

16) Ty Dillon, 77, NationsGuard Chevrolet

17) Martin Truex Jr., 19, Bass Pro Shops Toyota

18) Kyle Larson, 5, Chevrolet

19) Aric Almirola, 10, Smithfield Ford

20) Austin Cindric, 2, Menards/Great Stuff Ford

21) JJ Yeley(i), 51, Biohaven/Jacob Co. Ford

22) BJ McLeod, 78, Camden Medical Center Chevrolet

23) Josh Berry(i), 48, Ally Chevrolet

24) Ty Gibbs #, 54, He Gets us Toyota

25) Justin Haley, 31, LeafFilter Gutter Protection Chevrolet

26) Joey Logano, 22, Shell Pennzoil Ford

27) Corey LaJoie, 7, FOE Chevrolet

28) Bubba Wallace, 23, McDonald's Toyota

29) AJ Allmendinger, 16, Nutrien Ag Solutions Chevrolet

30) Ryan Preece, 41, Mohawk Northeast Ford

31) Harrison Burton, 21, DEX Imaging Ford

32) Michael McDowell, 34, A&W Root Beer Float Ford

33) Noah Gragson #, 42, Sunseeker Resort Chevrolet

34) Brennan Poole(i), 15, Millennium Jet Card Ford

35) Todd Gilliland, 38, Speedy Cash Ford

36) Austin Dillon, 3, Get Bioethanol Chevrolet
(i) Ineligible for driver points in this series, (#) Rookie

Track Race Record: Kyle Larson - 10/06/19 - 02:56:49 - 135.734 mph

Ron Fleshman and John Davison

Ron Fleshman  and John Davison are Editors at

Read More on Cup / XFINITY / Truck news
Volume 2023, Issue 4, Posted 2:37 PM, 04.29.2023