Ryan Preece Wins First Truck Pole at Nashville Superspeedway

Nigel Kinrade Photography

NASHVILLE, TN – RIS  - Ryan Preece won the pole for Friday's NASCAR Camping World Truck Series race  at Nashville Superspeedway \named the  Rackley Roofing 200.  Preece motored around the track  a speed of 160.925 mph, Preece topped the charts in Friday’s qualifying session. Preece will be joined on the front row by Zane Smith, who tied his career-best effort in qualifying. Carson Hocevar clocked in third; he has now started in the top three for the last three races.  Both drivers were in Fords.

Corey Heim was the highest qualifying Toyota in fourth and Derek Kraus was the fastest qualifier of eligible drivers below the playoff cutline in fifth.

Chandler Smith led the most laps at Nashville last year, and he will roll off sixth for tonight. Grant Enfinger and Matt DiBenedetto will make up row four in seventh and eighth, respectively. After being the fastest in the practice session earlier on Friday, Stewart Friesen will start in ninth place. Jack Wood completed the top 10 with his best start of the 2022 season.

Tate Fogleman spun out and was unable to complete a lap in his qualifying effort. With 42 entries and 36 starting spots, six drivers failed to make the show. Those six are Fogelman, Clay Greenfield, Jennifer Jo Cobb, Justin Carroll, Bret Holmes and Trey Hutchens.

Hutchens initially made the race. But after qualifying was finished, Hutchens and Max Gutierrez’s times were disallowed for being too low. As a result, Hutchens won’t make the race. Chase Janes will make the race, starting in the last row (35th). Gutierrez will start last (36th). Additionally, Derek Kraus‘ No. 19 team was assessed an L1 penalty for improperly installed ballast; crew chief Shane Wilson was suspended.

Ronald Fleshman

NASCAR Editor at Ris-news.com

Read More on Cup / XFINITY / Truck news
Volume 2022, Issue 6, Posted 7:42 PM, 06.24.2022