DREYER - D&R Honors AJ Foyt

Dreyer & Reinbold Racing Honors Legendary A.J. Foyt

With “Pop Dreyer Legends Award” in 2019

Award to honor Contributions for Commitment & Dedication to the Sport



SPEEDWAY, Ind. (May 23, 2019) – Dennis Reinbold, team owner of Dreyer & Reinbold Racing, today presented the prestigious “Pop Dreyer Legends Award” to Indy car racing’s winningest driver and four-time Indy 500 champion A.J. Foyt at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. 


The “Pop Dreyer Legends Award” honors the contributions of those Indy car racing participants who have demonstrated unparalleled commitment and dedication to the racing community throughout their storied motorsports careers.


Floyd “Pop” Dreyer, a famed national flat track motorcycle racer for the Indian factory in the 1920s, was a mechanic on the famed Duesenberg Indy 500 team in 1927 and began an auto racing legacy that includes building the cars for the entire 1931 Indy 500 front row starters and a variety of championship-winning sprint cars and midgets in the 1930s, 1940s and 1950s. Dreyer is also credited with introducing several innovations in racing such as the use of magnesium and many believe that he built the first quarter midget.


Reinbold, Dreyer’s grandson, has fielded 41 starters at the Indy 500 dating back to 1999 with drivers including current team’s Indy 500 drivers Sage Karam and J.R. Hildebrand plus Robbie Buhl, Al Unser Jr., Buddy Rice, Sarah Fisher, Buddy Lazier, Ryan Briscoe, Oriol Servia, Townsend Bell and Davey Hamilton. Dreyer & Reinbold Racing also competes in the ARX Rallycross series and captured the 2016 ARX2 series title with Cabot Bigham.


“For Dreyer & Reinbold Racing, establishing the Pop Dreyer Legends Award in 2008 was a natural thing to do,” said Reinbold.  “We believe it is important to remember the incredible contributions that those before us have made to our sport, as without these men and women, none of us would have the opportunities that we currently have in motorsports. 


While there are no doubt other awards and Halls of Fame that exist and that undertake this same purpose, we want to honor those people who have demonstrated dedication, commitment and perseverance in their motorsports careers. We want to thank A.J. for all of his amazing contributions to Indy car racing as a driver, mechanic and team owner for over 60 years.


Foyt of Houston, Tex., was the first four-time winner of the Indianapolis 500-Miler Race with victories in 1961, 1964, 1967 and 1977. He holds the record for the most IndyCar wins with 67 and seven IndyCar series championships as a driver. A.J. is the only driver to win the Indianapolis 500, Daytona 500 (1972) and the 24 Hours of LeMans (1967).


Foyt was voted “Racing Driver of the 20th Century” for his driving accomplishments.  In addition, the Foyt Racing team captured the 1999 Indianapolis 500 with driver Kenny Brack.  Foyt Racing currently fields two cars in the 2019 NTT IndyCar Series with drivers Tony Kanaan and Matheus Leist.


#   #   #


About Dreyer & Reinbold Racing: Dreyer & Reinbold Racing was founded in 1999 by Indianapolis car dealer Dennis Reinbold. The legacy of the Dreyer and Reinbold family dates back to the 1920s with Reinbold’s grandfather, the legendary Floyd “Pop” Dreyer, a former factory motorcycle racer. Dreyer served as a crewman and mechanic on the famed Duesenberg driven by Benny Shoaff and Babe Stapp in the 1927 Indy 500. Dreyer went on to build Indy 500 cars in the 1930s which many started on the front row. In addition, Dreyer constructed championship-winning sprint cars and midgets as well as quarter midgets called Dreyerettes. Dreyer & Reinbold Racing captured its first win in 2000 with driver Robbie Buhl at Walt Disney World Speedway in Orlando, Fla., and has fielded a variety of drivers including Buhl, Buddy Lazier, Sarah Fisher, Buddy Rice, Ryan Briscoe, Al Unser Jr., Townsend Bell and Sage Karam. Dreyer & Reinbold Racing has successfully qualified all 41 drivers for the Indy 500 in its history.  DRR, who campaigned in the Red Bull Global Rallycross for the first time in 2015, captured the 2016 Red Bull GRC Lites championship in 2016. The DRR team recorded five main event victories, 23 heat race wins and eight fast qualifying honors.

Tom Beeler

Tom has been a contributor to RIS since 1992, and has covered IndyCar, Formula 1, NASCAR, Grand-Am, ALMS and the 24 Hours of Le Mans. In addition to his RIS work, Tom has been a contributor for General Motors, Nissan, Toyota and the ACO.

Read More on Indy Car press releases
Volume 2019, Issue 5, Posted 1:04 PM, 05.24.2019