GLENDORA, Calif. – RIS- (Feb. 1, 2017) – NHRA and FOX Sports announced there will be additional live programming from the season opening NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series event, the Circle K NHRA Winternationals in Pomona, Calif. The new one hour program will air on FOX Sports 1 (FS1) from 1 – 2 p.m. Eastern, 10 – 11 a.m. Pacific, on Saturday, Feb. 11.

The added live hour of coverage will provide highlights of the opening rounds of qualifying on Friday, it will preview the upcoming 24-race national event schedule and feature the thrilling sights and sounds from the event.

The programming from the added show builds upon the relationship with NHRA and FOX Sports which enters into the second season as the exclusive television partner of the world’s fastest growing motorsports property.

"Fox sports continues to be a great partner for the drag racing community, providing an additional hour of live TV for our fans on Saturday and expanding our coverage of first weekend of the season on FS1,” said Ken Adelson, NHRA vice president, executive producer and chief content officer. “With the final eliminations airing on the Fox Broadcast network on Sunday at 4 p.m. Eastern, we look forward to an incredible start to the 2017 season.”

Live coverage of Sunday finals from the Circle K NHRA Winternationals will air on FOX broadcast channels at 4 p.m. Eastern, 1 p.m. Pacific on Feb. 12.  

Dusty Brandel

President of the American Auto Racing Writers and Broadcasters Association, Inc. Worked with Mike Hollander since Tapsis, Compuserve, etc. and has posted to the website since the beginning. First Female photo-journalist to be given a garage and pit pass for the NASCAR garage, 1972 at Ontario Motor Speedway. One of first seven female writers, photographers given access to the Indianapolis Motor Speedway garage and pits in 1971. Past President of Greater Los Angeles Press Club, 1992-96, and first female editor of the 8-Ball publication for the Press Club

Read More on Drag Racing news
Volume 2016, Issue 8, Posted 6:32 PM, 02.01.2017