ISW: Beauchamp Beats Darland For First

Brent Beauchamp first win. photo speedblur101

BLOOMINGTON, IN -RIS- The track was fast at Bloomington Speedway and so was Chad Boespflug as he set a new lap record but it was another new winner in the feature as Brent Beauchamp fought with Dave Darland for most of the night before winning his first Indiana Sprint Week feature.

All that said, the most important thing may be the Sprint Week points standings, which changed completely after Tyler Courtney flipped in his heat and missed the feature.

More Photos

Forty eight drivers qualified on Bloomington's red clay banks and when they were done Chad Boespflug had put a record in the books at 10.737 seconds besting the old record of 10.842 seconds. Windom, Stockon, Jarrett and Schuerenberg were heat winners. Kevin Thomas Jr. won the B main and Jon Stanbrough won the C main. Tyler Courtney tried to get to the feature in the B in a hastily repaired car but only finished 15th ending his night.

The front row for the feature consisted of Brady Bacon and Dave Darland. At the start Darland took the outside line while Beauchamp, who started behind Darland took the bottom. They left Bacon behind and ran side-by-side for most of the first 10 laps with Darland leading and Beauchamp nipping him at the line on lap five and lap eight. Lap eight saw Beauchamp established himself in front until lap 16 when caution was called and Darland took the lead for one lap. A second caution an restart saw Darland lead laps 18 and 19 but the bottom line was still the place to be and Beauchamp took over on lap 20 and ran in front the rest of the race.

"I said last night that winning a 'Sprint Week' race would be something that I literally would not be able to describe and, to do it here- a place that has eluded me for so long- it's a place I've wanted to win at so bad, but to do it during 'Sprint Week,' it's amazing.” Said Beauchamp.

On the final lap Brady Bacon took second place from Darland which helped him in the series points.

Brady Bacon is the new leader in Indiana Sprint Week points with 317 and a 21 point lead over Robert Ballou and 29 pointsover Tyler Courtney whohad been the leader at the start of the day. Chris Windom is fourth fifty points back with two events to go.

The family of Sheldon Kinser was out in force for this race, the “Sheldon Kinser Memorial” and made for quite a crowd at the victory celebration.

The next race is at Tri-State Speedway, just north of Evansville in Haubstadt. Could there be another new winner? I would not bet against it.

USAC AMSOIL SPRINT CAR NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP RACE RESULTS: July 15, 2016 - Bloomington, Indiana -  Bloomington Speedway - "Indiana Sprint Week" - "Sheldon Kinser Memorial"

      PROSOURCE QUALIFYING: 1. Chad Boespflug, 98E, NineEight/EZR-10.737; 2. Kevin Thomas Jr., 4J, 4J Motorsports-10.846; 3. Josh Hodges, 74x, Hodges-10.858; 4. C.J. Leary, 17GP, Dutcher-10.961; 5. Jarett Andretti, 18, Andretti-10.974; 6. Thomas Meseraull, 24, LSR-10.981; 7. Brent Beauchamp, 34, Olson-10.986; 8. Brady Bacon, 69, Dynamics-10.988; 9. Tony DiMattia, 50, DiMattia-10.988; 10. Dave Darland, 11, Walker/Curb-Agajanian-11.005; 11. Dakota Jackson, 3, Jackson-11.005; 12. Jerry Coons Jr., 10E, Edison-11.026; 13. Tyler Thomas, 04, Burton-11.038; 14. Chase Stockon, 32, 32 TBI-11.043; 15. Kyle Cummins, 3R, Rock Steady-11.046; 16. Hunter Schuerenberg, 2E, Epperson-11.061; 17. Chris Windom, 5, Baldwin-11.062; 18. Brady Short, 11p, Pottorff-11.074; 19. Bret Mellenberndt, 97, Mellenberndt-11.085; 20. Tyler Courtney, 23c, TOPP-11.085; 21. Brandon Mattox, 28, Mattox-11.087; 22. Robert Ballou, 1, Ballou-11.124; 23. Logan Jarrett, 29, Jarrett-11.129; 24. Aaron Farney, 15F, Farney-11.136; 25. A.J. Hopkins, 14H, Hopkins-11.144; 26. Jordan Kinser, 70, Hurst-11.158; 27. Shane Cottle, 57, Hazen-11.161; 28. Justin Grant, 71p, Phillips-11.211; 29. Max McGhee, 17, McGhee-11.231; 30. Jeff Bland Jr., 38, Bland-11.247; 31. Isaac Chapple, 52, LNR-11.267; 32. Cole Ketcham, 41k, Ketcham-11.270; 33. Cole Smith, 29s, Smith-11.282; 34. Aric Gentry, 10, Gentry-11.312; 35. Jon Stanbrough, 66, Amati-11.322; 36. Daylan Chambers, 4c, Chambers-11.329; 37. Kent Schmidt, 5k, Schmidt-11.355; 38. Dickie Gaines, 44, Soudrette-11.417; 39. Nick Bilbee, 17N, Bilbee-11.453; 40. Riley Kreisel, 90, Smith-11.489; 41. Matt McDonald, 5M, McDonald-11.508; 42. Tom Harris, 5E, East-11.661; 43. Jamie Williams, 31, Williams-11.688; 44. Nate McMillin, 15J, Johnson-11.790; 45. Chris Babcock, 35, Babcock-11.798; 46. Matt Brannin, 27, Brannin-11.945; 47. Lukas Smith, 61, Smith-11.971; 48. Robert Bell, 71, Bell-12.046.

      SIMPSON RACE PRODUCTS FIRST HEAT: (10 laps) 1. Windom, 2. Mattox, 3. Boespflug, 4. Hopkins, 5. DiMattia, 6. McGhee, 7. Andretti, 8. T.Thomas, 9. C.Smith, 10. Schmidt, 11. McDonald, 12. Babcock. 1:53.43

      COMPETITION SUSPENSION (CSI) SECOND HEAT: (10 laps) 1. Stockon, 2. Darland, 3. Ballou, 4. B.Short, 5. Bland, 6. Kinser, 7. K.Thomas Jr., 8. Meseraull, 9. Gaines, 10. Harris, 11. Brannin, 12. Gentry. 1:55.18

      BENIC ENTERPRISES THIRD HEAT: (10 laps) 1. Jarrett, 2. Cummins, 3. Beauchamp, 4. Hodges, 5. Mellenberndt, 6. Stanbrough, 7. Williams, 8. Chapple, 9. L.Smith, 10. S.Cottle, 11. Jackson, 12. Bilbee, NT

      INDY RACE PARTS FOURTH HEAT: (10 laps) 1. Schuerenberg, 2. Bacon, 3. Coons, 4. Leary, 5. Farney, 6. Grant, 7. Kreisel, 8. McMillin, 9. Chambers, 10. Ketcham, 11. Bell, 12. Courtney. NT

      C-MAIN: (10 laps) 1. Stanbrough, 2. C.Smith, 3. Kreisel, 4. Chambers, 5. Gaines, 6. Harris, 7. McMillin, 8. Williams, 9. McDonald, 10. Babcock, 11. L.Smith, 12. Schmidt. NT

      SEMI: (12 laps) 1. K.Thomas Jr., 2. Meseraull, 3. T.Thomas, 4. Andretti, 5. Jackson, 6. Kinser, 7. Mellenberndt, 8. C.Smith, 9. Farney, 10. McGhee, 11. Chapple, 12. Kreisel, 13. Chambers, 14. DiMattia, 15. Courtney, 16. Stanbrough, 17. Grant, 18. Bland. 2:35.32

      FEATURE: (30 laps) 1. Brent Beauchamp, 2. Brady Bacon, 3. Dave Darland, 4. Kevin Thomas Jr., 5. Thomas Meseraull, 6. C.J. Leary, 7. Josh Hodges, 8. Jerry Coons Jr., 9. Jarett Andretti, 10. Robert Ballou, 11. Chad Boespflug, 12. Brady Short, 13. A.J. Hopkins, 14. Chris Windom, 15. Brandon Mattox, 16. Kyle Cummins, 17. Jon Stanbrough, 18. Isaac Chapple, 19. Chase Stockon, 20. Logan Jarrett, 21. Tyler Thomas, 22. Jordan Kinser, 23. Dakota Jackson, 24. Hunter Schuerenberg. NT


**Jackson flipped during the third heat. Courtney flipped during the fourth heat.

FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Laps 1-4 Darland, Lap 5 Beauchamp, Laps 6-7 Darland, Laps 8-15 Beauchamp, Lap 16 Darland, Lap 17 Beauchamp, Laps 18-19 Darland, Laps 20-30 Beauchamp.

KSE/B & W AUTO MART HARD CHARGER: Robert Ballou (17th-10th)

NEW USAC AMSOIL SPRINT CAR NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP POINTS: 1-Bacon-1,808, 2-Ballou-1,625, 3M-Meseraull-1,619, 4-Stockon-1,578, 5-Darland-1,508, 6-Leary-1,445, 7-Boespflug-1,437, 8-Windom-1,294, 9-McGhee-1,178, 10-Farney-996.

NEW USAC INDIANA SPRINT WEEK POINTS: 1-Bacon-317, 2-Ballou-2,95, 3-Courtney-288, 4-Windom-267, 5-K.Thomas Jr.-263, 6-Coons-239, 7-Stockon-237, 8-Boespflug-233, 9-Andretti-230, 10-Meseraull-215.

NEXT USAC AMSOIL NATIONAL SPRINT CAR CHAMPIONSHIP RACE: July 16 - Haubstadt, IN - Tri-State Speedway - "Indiana Sprint Week"

Results Courtesy USAC

Ed Hollowell

Reporter for RIS since 1996. Photo since 2002.

Read More on Oval Track news
Volume 2016, Issue 6, Posted 11:33 AM, 07.16.2016