ISW: Clauson Domanates The Berg

Clauson on the winners podium for the 111th time. Photo speedblur101

LAWRENCEBURG, IN -RIS- After two new winners in a row it was about time for the 'established' drivers to be heard from and Bryan Clauson was the the one who did the job in round three of Indiana Sprint Week at Lawrenceburg Speedway. Clauson set fast time at 14.166 seconds and lead 25 of the 30 feature race laps.


Photo Collection

Forty two cars were on hand for the Sunday afternoon show at Lawrenceburg. Qualifying went without a hitch though the track was looking slick and the track record of 13.861 seconds was not in danger. The sky was partly cloudy with light winds and temperature in the mid 80's. The sky was clearing and made for a starry night for the lucky racefans.

The heats started the racing with Brady Bacon, Nick Bilbee, Chris Windom and Jon Stanbrough going to the winners column. Chad Boespflug, Thomas Meseraull, Garrett Adams and Dickie Gaines got transfers from the C feature. The B feature went to C. J. Leary with Robert Ballou, Kevin Thomas Jr., Tyler Thomas, Kyle Cummins and Chase Stockon taking transfers to the feature.

As the feature was pushed off Joss Moffatt retired with mechanical trouble. Hunter Schuerenberg took the lead from the pole while Clauson went from sixth to third on the first lap. On the second lap the caution light came on for a spin by Kyle Wissmiller. Clauson was third behind Logan Jarrett.

On the restart Clauson got around Jarrett and took after Schuerenberg. On the sixth lap he had caught and passed him, only to have the pass called back by a caution for a spin by Jarett Andretti on the front straight.

On the lap six restart Clauson got his way with Schuerenberg and took the lead. Josh Hodges passed for second two laps later but was nearly half a lap back of Clauson. Then on lap 13 Dave Darland as well as Nick Bilbee and Zach Daum tangled and came to a stop in turn three. Caution allowed Hodges to close.

Restart on lap 13 and hodges hung on to Clauson's tail and started to challenge him while running high in turns 1 and 2 and lower in turns 3 and 4. He looked to be a threat to the leader but was not able to close the deal.

It appeared that the race might end as it was until Courtney began a charge with eight laps remaining. Coming from fourth he passed Schuerenberg and closed on Hodges. By lap 27 he had passed Hodges with Chris Windom following. A lap 28 caution gave hope for the challenger but Clauson got an excellent restart and went to the flag without any further drama.

It was USAC win number 111 for Bryan. It moved him into the top-five on the all-time list behind only Rich Vogler (171), A.J. Foyt (162), Sleepy Tripp (161) and Mel Kenyon (131) in career USAC wins. The sprint car win was his 41st and puts him above Gary Bettenhausen for seventh on the all-time list.

In Indiana Sprint Week points the second place finish by Tyler Courtney increased his lead from 2 points to 22 points over Brady Bacon and Chris Windom. The series will take Monday and Tuesday off before hitting the dirt at the Terre Haute Action Track Wednesday the 13th. Thursday is Putnamville: Friday is Bloomington and Saturday is the finale at Tri-State Speedway north of Evansville.

USAC AMSOIL SPRINT CAR NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP RACE RESULTS: July 10, 2016 - Lawrenceburg, Indiana - Lawrenceburg Speedway - "Indiana Sprint Week"

PROSOURCE QUALIFYING: 1. Bryan Clauson, 63, Dooling/Hayward-14.166; 2. Tyler Courtney, 23c, TOPP-14.179; 3. Justin Grant, 71p, Phillips-14.188; 4. Aaron Farney, 15F, Farney-14.292; 5. Kyle Robbins, 17R, Robbins-14.297; 6. Josh Hodges, 74x, Hodges-14.312; 7. Kevin Thomas Jr., 4J, 4J Motorsports-14.363; 8. Logan Jarrett, 29, Jarrett-14.375; 9. Hunter Schuerenberg, 2E, Epperson-14.432; 10. Tyler Thomas, 04, Burton-14.444; 11. Chris Windom, 5, Baldwin-14.447; 12. C.J. Leary, 17GP, Dutcher-14.463; 13. Brady Bacon, 69, Dynamics-14.470; 14. Shawn Westerfeld, 89, Westerfeld-14.473; 15. Zach Daum, 5D, Daum-14.493; 16. Jon Stanbrough, 81, Stanbrough-14.506; 17. Mario Clouser, 6, Clouser-14.509; 18. Kyle Wissmiller, 3, Simmons-14.516; 19. Cole Ketcham, 41k, Ketcham-14.516; 20. Dave Darland, 11, Walker/Curb-Agajanian-14.530; 21. Jarett Andretti, 18, Andretti-14.619; 22. Nick Bilbee, 17N, Bilbee-14.623; 23. Landon Simon, 24, Simon-14.676; 24. Joss Moffatt, 5J, Moffatt-14.678; 25. Matt Goodnight, 39, Goodnight-14.682; 26. Chase Stockon, 32, 32 TBI-14.709; 27. Kyle Cummins, 3R, Rock Steady-14.745; 28. Tony DiMattia, 50, DiMattia-14.766; 29. Robert Ballou, 1, Ballou-14.780; 30. Isaac Chapple, 52, LNR-14.817; 31. Chad Boespflug, 98E, NineEight/EZR-14.832; 32. Justin Owen, 4JO, Fischesser-14.846; 33. Garrett Abrams, 32A, Abrams-14.897; 34. Max McGhee, 17, McGhee-14.953; 35. Dickie Gaines, 44, Soudrette-14.962; 36. Bret Mellenberndt, 97, Mellenberndt-14.977; 37. Michael Fischesser, 4, Fischesser-14.990; 38. Travis Hery, 21H, Hery-15.147; 39. Thomas Meseraull, 66, Amati-15.254; 40. Jamie Williams, 31, Williams-15.509; 41. Steve Thomas, 20, Thomas-16.206; 42. Shane Cottle, 57, Hazen-NT.

SIMPSON RACE PRODUCTS FIRST HEAT: (10 laps) 1. Bacon, 2. Schuerenberg, 3. Andretti, 4. Clauson, 5. Ballou, 6. Clouser, 7. Robbins, 8. Goodnight, 9. Abrams, 10. Fischesser, 11. S.Thomas. 2:26.47

COMPETITION SUSPENSION (CSI) SECOND HEAT: (10 laps) 1. Bilbee, 2. Wissmiller, 3. Courtney, 4. Hodges, 5. Stockon, 6. Westerfeld, 7. Chapple, 8. McGhee, 9. T.Thomas, 10. Hery. 2:28.82

BENIC ENTERPRISES THIRD HEAT: (10 laps) 1. Windom, 2. Daum, 3. Simon, 4. Grant, 5. K.Thomas, 6. Cummins, 7. Ketcham, 8. Meseraull, 9. Boespflug, 10. Gaines. 2:29.10

INDY RACE PARTS FOURTH HEAT: (10 laps) 1. Stanbrough, 2. Darland, 3. Moffatt, 4. Jarrett, 5. Leary, 6. Mellenberndt, 7. DiMattia, 8. Farney, 9. Owen, 10. Williams. NT

C-MAIN: (10 laps) 1. Boespflug, 2. Meseraull, 3. Abrams, 4. Gaines, 5. Mellenberndt, 6. Hery, 7. Owen, 8. Fischesser, 9. S.Thomas. 2:39.57

SEMI: (12 laps) 1. Leary, 2. Ballou, 3. K.Thomas, 4. T.Thomas, 5. Cummins, 6. Stockon, 7. Westerfeld, 8. Ketcham, 9. Clouser, 10. Goodnight, 11. Gaines, 12. Abrams, 13. DiMattia, 14. Chapple, 15. Boespflug, 16. Meseraull, 17. Farney, 18. Robbins. NT

FEATURE: (30 laps) 1. Bryan Clauson, 2. Tyler Courtney, 3. Chris Windom, 4. C.J. Leary, 5. Josh Hodges, 6. Justin Grant, 7. Brady Bacon, 8. Kyle Cummins, 9. Robert Ballou, 10. Kevin Thomas Jr., 11. Jarett Andretti, 12. Chase Stockon, 13. Jon Stanbrough, 14. Zach Daum, 15. Landon Simon, 16. Dave Darland, 17. Tyler Thomas, 18. Thomas Meseraull, 19. Hunter Schuerenberg, 20. Logan Jarrett, 21. Nick Bilbee, 22. Chad Boespflug, 23. Kyle Wissmiller, 24. Joss Moffatt. NT


**Farney & Williams flipped during the fourth heat.

FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Laps 1-5 Schuerenberg, Laps 6-30 Clauson.

KSE/B & W AUTO MART HARD CHARGER: Kyle Cummins (20th to 8th)

NEW USAC AMSOIL SPRINT CAR NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP POINTS: 1-Bacon-1,694, 2-Ballou-1,507, 3-Meseraull-1,491, 4-Stockon-1,473, 5-Darland-1,389, 6-Leary-1,344, 7-Boespflug-1,311; 8-Windom-1,220, 9-McGhee-1,158, 10-Clauson-962.

NEW USAC INDIANA SPRINT WEEK POINTS: 1-Courtney-215, 2-Bacon & Windom-193, 4-Clauson-188, 5-Ballou-177, 6-Cummins-166, 7-Thomas Jr.-142, 8-Andretti-136, 9-Stockon-130, 10-S.Cottle-129.

NEXT USAC AMSOIL SPRINT CAR NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP RACE: July 13 - Terre Haute (IN) Action Track - "Indiana Sprint Week" - "Don Smith Classic"

Results Courtesy USAC

Ed Hollowell

Reporter for RIS since 1996. Photo since 2002.

Read More on Oval Track news
Volume 2016, Issue 6, Posted 10:24 PM, 07.11.2016