ISW: Farney Gets First @ Terre Haute

Aaron Farney following sprint week win at Terre Haute. photo Speedblur101

TERRE HAUTE, IN -RIS- When Aaron Farney lead five laps at Lawrenceburg last Sunday he looked fast but he faded to fifth at the end. He was someone to watch for the future it seemed and you did not need to watch for long. Wednesday at the Terre Haute Action track Aaron Farney started on the pole and lead wire-to-wire to win the main event and his first USAC feature.

Photo Gallery

“It means the world to me. I can’t believe it. The whole race, I just thought someone would be there every time I screwed up. I hit the wall too many times, and luckily it always bounced just right. To say that I won at Terre Haute is amazing, and to do it on the fence. I can’t even explain it. I can’t thank Robert Ballou enough. He sets up my car and tries to teach me how to do this right. He told me it would be up there, and I have had to learn how to run a cushion. I knew had to get through traffic quickly, so I tried to be as aggressive as possible. It’s not easy in USAC, and I never would have though it would come this fast, or especially at this track,” Farney said.

Behind Farney was Robert Ballou who finished second for the second race in a row. Robert started ninth and moved up quickly to take second place on lap four. “I couldn’t be happier. If I’m ever gonna get beat by anybody, I want it to be him. They’re a great family, and they’ve let me help them with these sprint cars and building their cars and teaching Aaron. I knew on that red that as long as he could keep that thing pointed forward, it was his race to win.” Said Ballou.

The “red” that Robert refered to was for a flip by Thomas Meseraull on lap 18 in turn two.

Dave Darland went from a fifth place start to finish third as he passed Chad Boespflug and Justin Grant in the closing laps.

The second place finish by Ballou padded his lead in the “Indiana Sprint Weeks” point chase to 16 points over Brady Bacon.

In the B main Thomas Meseraull went from the back row to win the 12 lap race, improving his position 1 places.

Ballou, Chase Stockon, Carson Short and Logan Jarrett were the heat winners and Mitch Wissmiller was the fast qualifier at 21.361 seconds.

USAC regular Tracy Hines sat out the race after his flip at Lawrenceburg last Sunday.


AMSOIL USAC NATIONAL SPRINT CAR RACE RESULTS: July 15, 2015 - Terre Haute, Indiana - Terre Haute Action Track - 28th "Indiana Sprint Week" - "Don Smith Classic"

      QUALIFICATIONS: 1. Mitch Wissmiller, 1M, Wissmiller-21.361; 2. Jerry Coons Jr., 10E, Edison-21.453; 3. Jarett Andretti, 18, Andretti-21.466; 4. Dave Darland, 71p, Phillips/Curb-Agajanian-21.542; 5. Chad Boespflug, 66, Amati-21.597; 6. Kevin Thomas Jr., 17RW, Dutcher-21.685; 7. Justin Grant, 5, Baldwin-21.690; 8. Aaron Farney, 15F, Farney-21.713; 9. Robert Ballou, 12, Ballou-21.723; 10. Jon Stanbrough, 81, Stanbrough-21.734; 11. Chris Windom, 21x, Pollock-21.778; 12. Kyle Wissmiller, 3x, Simmons-21.809; 13. Bill Rose, 6, Rose-21.817; 14. Brady Short, 11p, Pottorff-21.830; 15. J.J. Hughes, 76, Hughes-21.835; 16. Scotty Weir, 11, Walker-21.871; 17. Landon Simon, 24, LSR-21.885; 18. Chase Stockon, 32, 32TBI-21.892; 19. Carson Short, 21, Short-21.905; 20. Brady Bacon, 69, Dynamics-21.920; 21. Hunter Schuerenberg, 2E, Epperson-21.923; 22. Lee Dakus, 75, Dakus-21.925; 23. Kent Christian, 1c, Christian-21.935; 24. Logan Jarrett, 29, Jarrett-21.938; 25. Shane Cottle, 17, McGhee-21.969; 26. Jake Swanson, 92, Sertich-22.021; 27. Cole Ketcham, 41x, Ketcham-22.088; 28. C.J. Leary, 30, Leary-22.106; 29. Casey Shuman, 2x, Barnhill-22.310; 30. Chris Babcock, 35, Babcock-22.387; 31. Kurt Gross, 1x, Gross-22.440; 32. Josh Hodges, 4, THR/Hodges-22.520; 33. Thomas Meseraull, 39, Goodnight-22.853; 34. Robert Bell, 71, Bell-23.708; 35. Tony DiMattia, 50, DiMattia-23.788; 36. Nathan Moore, 48, Moore-NT; 37. Shelby VanGilder, 22V, VanGilder-NT.

      FIRST HEAT: (8 laps) 1. Ballou, 2. Schuerenberg, 3. Boespflug, 4. Simon, 5. M.Wissmiller, 6. Meseraull, 7. S.Cottle, 8. Rose, 9. Shuman. 2:52.66

      SECOND HEAT: (8 laps) 1. Stockon, 2. Stanbrough, 3. K.Thomas, 4. Coons, 5. B.Short, 6. Dakus, 7. Swanson, 8. Babcock, 9. Bell. 2:50.07

      THIRD HEAT: (8 laps) 1. C.Short, 2. Windom, 3. Grant, 4. Hughes, 5. Christian, 6. Ketcham, 7. Gross, 8. DiMattia, 9. Andretti, 3:03.96

      FOURTH HEAT: (8 laps) 1. Jarrett, 2. Bacon, 3. Farney, 4. Darland, 5. Hodges, 6. Weir, 7. Leary, 8. K.Wissmiller. NT

      SEMI: (12 laps) 1. Meseraull, 2. S,Cottle, 3. Andretti, 4. M.Wissmiller, 5. B.Short, 6. Weir, 7. Swanson, 8. Hodges, 9. Leary, 10. Shuman, 11. Ketcham, 12. Rose, 13. Christian, 14. Babcock, 15. K.Wissmiller, 16. DiMattia, 17. Bell, 18. Dakus, 19. Gross. NT

      FEATURE: (30 laps) 1. Aaron Farney, 2. Robert Ballou, 3. Dave Darland, 4. Chad Boespflug, 5. Chase Stockon, 6. Jon Stanbrough, 7. Brady Bacon, 8. Justin Grant, 9. Jerry Coons Jr., 10. Shane Cottle, 11. Hunter Schuerenberg, 12. Kevin Thomas Jr., 13. Jarett Andretti, 14. Chris Windom, 15. Scotty Weir, 16. J.J. Hughes, 17. Landon Simon, 18. Logan Jarrett, 19. Thomas Meseraull, 20. Carson Short, 21. Brady Short, 22. Mitch Wissmiller. NT


**Bell flipped during the semi. Meseraull flipped on lap 18 of the feature.

FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Laps 1-30 Farney.

NEW AMSOIL NATIONAL SPRINT POINTS: 1-Ballou-1,161, 2-Stockon-1,135, 4-Darland-1,112, 4-Thomas-1,034, 5-Bacon-1,016, 6-Stanbrough-1,013, 7-Tracy Hines-818, 8-Leary-775, 9-Grant-700, 10-Windom-680.

NEW INDIANA SPRINT WEEK POINTS: 1-Ballou-191, 2-Bacon-175, 3-Darland-169, 4-Schuerenberg-150, 5-Thomas-148, 6-Farney-143, 7-Boepflug-140, 8-Grant & Stockon-135, 10-Stanbrough-134.

NEXT AMSOIL NATIONAL SPRINT RACE: July 16 - Putnamville, IN - Lincoln Park Speedway - 28th "Indiana Sprint Week"

Results Courtesy USAC

Ed Hollowell

Reporter for RIS since 1996. Photo since 2002.

Read More on Oval Track news
Volume 2015, Issue 7, Posted 11:35 AM, 07.16.2015