Bacon Winner On 'Berg Banks

Brady Bacon qualifying. photo speedblur101

LAWRENCEBERG, IN -RIS- Brady Bacon drove from sixth place at the start to take the win on the fast banks of Lawrenceberg Speedway in the third pace of 2015 “Indiana Sprint Week”.

The win in the Hoffman team car came dispite a collision with Landon Simon on lap 23 which allowed Robert Ballou to nose ahead for part of a lap. Ballou ended the race as the runner up while Justin Grant took the third place from Aaron Farney at the line. Farney lead laps two through six after a second place start.

The race was run under the threat of rain but the weather 'Gods' cooperated and there was no rain during the event. At the start of hot laps the temperature was 83 degrees with 73% humidity and partly sunny. Large parts of the pits and infield were wet but the track was good.

Speedblur101 Photos

Thirty nine qualified with Shawn Westerfeld fastest at 14.115 seconds and he qualified 28th. Shane Cottle had a short night as flipped during his qualifying attempt. Thomas Meseraull, C. J. Leary, Kyle Cummins and Logan Jarrett were the heat winners while Jon Stanbrough won the B feature. Chase Stockon hit the ruts in turn three wrong and flipped collecting Tracy Hines and Jake Swanson, who also flipped.

Ballou leads Bacon by one point in the Indiana Sprint Week points. Monday night they will attempt to finish the race at Kokomo which was cut short by rain Saturday. The Terre Haute Action Track is the venue for Wednesday.

BACON- “It feels really good. This woould be a track we would normally be good on but it still feels good. We kind'a got a monkey off our back, we had a slump there for a little bit. We've seemed to pick it up at Gas City and Kokomo. So good to get a win here. Hopefully we can keep this going throughout sprint week and get back in the title hunt.”

BALLOU- “It wasn't really that bad. He (Bacon) went in and played bumper tag with Landon Simon and I wasn't really sure where he was going to go and it wasn't worth destroying my race car so. Bad night for Chase (Stockon) and a good night for us in points. I hate to see that for him and Tracy. Two good guys who have been doing this for a long time. Chase is the most consistent guy out here on the tour.”


AMSOIL USAC NATIONAL SPRINT CAR RACE RESULTS: July 12, 2015 - Lawrenceburg, Indiana - Lawrenceburg Speedway - 28th "Indiana Sprint Week"

      QUALIFICATIONS: 1. Shawn Westerfeld, 89, Westerfeld-14.115; 2. Brady Bacon, 69, Dynamics-14.116; 3. Jon Stanbrough, 81, Stanbrough-14.217; 4. Jerry Coons Jr., 10E, Edison-14.252; 5. Justin Grant, 40, Hery-14.263; 6. Robert Ballou, 12, Ballou-14.264; 7. Jarett Andretti, 18, Andretti-14.264; 8. Aaron Farney, 15F, Farney-14.267; 9. Kevin Thomas, Jr., 17RW, Dutcher-14.336; 10. Chase Stockon, 32, 32/TBI-14.363; 11. Hunter Schuerenberg, 2E, Epperson-14.421; 12. Josh Hodges, 74x, Hodges-14.429; 13. Jake Swanson, 92, Sertich-14.438; 14. Dave Darland, 71P, Phillips/Curb-Agajanian-14.501; 15. Chris Windom, 21X, Pollock-14.504; 16. Scotty Weir, 11, Walker-14.528; 17. Thomas Meseraull, 18X, Keen-14.535; 18. Tracy Hines, 4, THR-14.553; 19. Logan Jarrett, 29, Jarrett-14.597; 20. C.J. Leary, 5, Baldwin-14.625; 21. Chad Boespflug 66, Amati-14.646; 22. Kyle Cummins, 3R, Byram-14.661; 23. Kody Swanson, 41, SST-14.680; 24. Casey Shuman, 2X, Barnhill-14.731; 25. Travis Hery, 21H, Hery-14.781; 26. Landon Simon, 24, LSR-14.859; 27. Tony DiMattia, 50, DiMattia-14.992; 28. Bill Rose, 6, Rose-15.003; 29. J.J. Hughes, 76, Hughes-15.006; 30. Lee Dakus, 75, Dakus-15.010; 31. Brady Short, 11p, Pottorff-15.018; 32. Joss Moffatt, 5J, Moffatt-15.091 ;33. Garrett Abrams, 32a, Abrams-15.332; 34. Dallas Hewitt, 16, Pearson-15.399; 35. Michael Fischesser, 4F, Fischesser-15.825; 36. Matt Goodnight, 39, Goodnight-15.964; 37. Riley VanHise, 96, VanHise-16.093; 38. Robert Bell, 71, Bell-16.684; 39. Shane Cottle, 57, Hazen-NT.

      FIRST HEAT: (10 laps) 1. Meseraull, 2. Boespflug, 3. K.Thomas, 4. Grant, 5. J.Swanson, 6. Westerfeld, 7. Hery, 8. Abrams, 9. Hughes, 10. VanHise. 2:27.90

      SECOND HEAT: (10 laps) 1. Cummins, 2. Darland, 3. Bacon, 4. Ballou, 5. Simon, 6. Stockon, 7. D.Hewitt, 8. Dakus, 9. Hines, 10. Bell. NT

      THIRD HEAT: (10 laps) 1. Jarrett, 2. Andretti, 3. K.Swanson, 4. Windom, 5. Schuerenberg, 6. Short, 7. Fischesser, 8. DiMattia, 9. Stanbrough. 2:26.39

      FOURTH HEAT: (10 laps) 1. Leary, 2. Weir, 3. Farney, 4. Rose, 5. Coons, 6. Hodges, 7. Moffatt, 8. Goodnight, 9. Shuman. 2:26.22

      SEMI: (12 laps) 1. Stanbrough, 2. Schuerenberg, 3. Westerfeld, 4. Simon, 5. Hodges, 6. Abrams, 7. Dakus, 8. Hughes, 9. DiMattia, 10. J.Swanson, 11. Hery, 12. D.Hewitt, 13. Fischesser, 14. VanHise, 15. Bell, 16. Shuman, 17. Moffatt, 18. Stockon, 19. Hines, 20. Goodnight, 21. Coons. NT

      FEATURE: (30 laps) 1. Brady Bacon, 2. Robert Ballou, 3. Justin Grant, 4. Dave Darland, 5. Aaron Farney, 6. Kevin Thomas Jr., 7. Jarett Andretti, 8. Jon Stanbrough, 9. Chris Windom, 10. Hunter Schuerenberg, 11. Scotty Weir, 12. Shawn Westerfeld, 13. Chad Boespflug, 14. Thomas Meseraull, 15. Logan Jarrett, 16. Chase Stockon, 17. Landon Simon, 18. C.J. Leary, 19. Garrett Abrams, 20. Kyle Cummins, 21. Kody Swanson, 22. Josh Hodges, 23. Bill Rose.


**Cottle flipped during qualifying. Hines, Stockon and J.Swanson all flipped during the semi. Rose flipped on lap 1 of the feature.

FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Lap 1 K.Thomas, Laps 2-6 Farney, Laps 7-30 Bacon.

NEW AMSOIL NATIONAL SPRINT POINTS: 1-Ballou-1,096, 2-Stckon-1,079, 3-Darland-1,050, 4-Bacon-971, 5-Stanbrough-961, 6-Thomas-898l 7-Hines-818, 8-Leary-774, 9-Grant-661, 10-Windom-648.

NEW INDIANA SPRINT WEEK POINTS: 1-Ballou-120, 2-Bacon-119, 3-Thomas-107, 4-Schuerenberg-104, 5-Darland-99, 6-Grant-90, 7-Weir-89, 8-Andretti-81, 9-Boespflug-75, 10-Stanbrough-74.

NEXT AMSOIL NATIONAL SPRINT RACE: July 13 - Kokomo (IN) Speedway - 28th "Indiana Sprint Week"

Results Courtesy USAC

Ed Hollowell

Reporter for RIS since 1996. Photo since 2002.

Read More on Oval Track news
Volume 2015, Issue 7, Posted 12:30 PM, 07.13.2015