Fireworks Ignite On and Off the Track as Wilk and Whitaker Capture Wins During Round 5 of Bojanglesí Summer Shootout Series

Josh Speas won the Beginner Bandolero feature to start the evening's points races

Track Release: CONCORD, N.C. (June 30, 2015) – There were fireworks on and off the track during Round 5 of the Bojangles’ Summer Shootout Series as intense racing and Fourth of July festivities entertained a huge crowd Tuesday night at Charlotte Motor Speedway. Daniel Wilk and Scott Whitaker were among the seven feature winners of the night, which marked the halfway point of the season.

Whitaker dominated in the Security Force Masters division feature and took home his first win of the Bojangles’ Summer Shootout Series season. Ron Mander was the polesitter for the 25-lap race and led until lap 3, when Whitaker took the lead on the backstretch. The race’s single caution took place on lap 13 between Tom Pistone and Robbie Faggart, who were battling for the second position and made contact in Turn 1. Jon Craig restarted on the outside and took the lead from Whitaker off Turn 2, but Whitaker was able to reclaim the lead and cruised on to victory. Carl Cormier finished behind Whitaker and Bruce Silver took third.

Wilk, driver in the LiveWell Homes Bandolero Bandits division, continued his winning streak as he claimed a feature victory for the fifth time this season. It didn’t take Wilk very long to find himself in the top five, and on lap 14 he took the lead away from DJ Canipe outside of Turn 2. The last five laps in this 20-lap race was smooth sailing for Wilk, who continues to prove his dominance at the Bojangles’ Summer Shootout Series. Wilk was followed by Carson Kvapil and William Robusto, respectively.

Other winners included Josh Speas in the Bandolero Beginner Bandits division, Ashton Higgins in the Bandolero Outlaw division, Jared Irvan in the Legend Car Pro division, Chase Purdy in the Legend Car Young Lions division and Sheldon Crouse in the Legend Car Semi-Pro division.

The Bojangles’ Summer Shootout Series continues at Charlotte Motor Speedway on Tuesday, July 7, with the Faster Pastor exhibition race. Local pastors will leave it all on the track as they race school buses to determine which pastor is faster at the intermission of the night’s thrilling Legend Car and Bandolero action.

Unofficial Results:

Beginner Bandolero Bandits (17 laps): 1. Josh Speas; 2. Parker Eatmon; 3. Mason Dejarnett; 4. Zachary Miracle; 5. Autumn Weaver; 6. Jacob Gantz; 7. Tyler Bartoszewicz; 8. David Selvik; 9. Stanley Hays; 10. Jake Putman; 11. Jaiden Reyna.

LiveWell Homes Bandolero Bandits (20 laps): 1. Daniel Wilk; 2. Carson Kvapil; 3. William Robusto; 4. Josh Kossek; 5. Bryson Ruff; 6. Blake Cisneros; 7. Landon Rapp; 8. Dylan Notaro; 9. Leland Honeyman; 10. Isabella Robusto; 11. Tommy Good; 12. George Hayes; 13. DJ Canipe; 14. Hunter Hutchens; 15. Cameron Bolen; 16. Maddox Blaize.

Body Mechanic Human Tuning Group Legend Car Pros (25 laps): 1. Jared Irvan; 2. Greg Lang; 3. Zane Smith; 4. Michael Torres; 5. Jordan Black; 6. Evan Swilling; 7. Joey Padgett; 8. Reid Wilson; 9. Dillon Faggart; 10. Alex Murray.

Bandolero Outlaws (20 laps): 1. Ashton Higgins; 2. Austin Powell; 3. Austin Geer; 4. Connor Younginer; 5. Tristan Lesik; 6. Liz Montgomery; 7. Gracie Trotter; 8. Seth Henry; 9. Blaise Brinkley; 10. Jordan Plummer; 11. Trevor Rizzo; 12. Bradyn Mander; 13. Adam Levin; 14. Hudgins Gauntt; 15. Roy Hayes; 16. Elysia Potter; 17. Ashley Pantoulas; 18. Matthew Eades; 19. Matthew Davey; 20. Alberto Limon; 21. Matthew Emery

Security Force Legend Car Masters (25 laps): 1. Scott Whitaker; 2. Carl Cormier; 3. Bruce Silver; 4. Robbie Faggart; 5. Tom Pistone; 6. Jon Craig; 7. Ron Mander; 8. Jan Ingram; 9. Chip Ferguson; 10. Jamie Smith; 11. Herman Towe

Legend Car Young Lions (20 laps): 1. Chase Purdy; 2. Austin Green; 3. Jacob Heafner; 4. Alex Reece; 5. Ryan Millington; 6. Eddie Fatscher; 7. Sam Mayer; 8. Dawson Cram; 9. Conner Snow; 10. Alex McCollom; 11. Carson Pointdexter; 12. Garrett Manes; 13. Jack Fread; 14. Ryo Ogata

Legend Car Semi-Pro (20 laps): 1. Sheldon Crouse; 2. Jordan Stillwell; 3. John Holleman IV; 4. Austin Langenstein; 5. Jensen Jorgensen; 6. Brad Lowmaster; 7. Joshua Plummer; 8. Taylor Jorgensen; 9. Conner Pyle; 10. Scott Joy; 11. Matthew Craig; 12. Stevie Johns Jr.; 13. Sprout Royal; 14. Craig Biryle; 15. Jordan Mander; 16. Hannah Bell; 17. Devin O'Connell; 18. John Davis; 19. Enrique Limon

Scott Whitaker claimed his first win of the 2015 Bojangles' Summer Shootout Series season on Tuesday night. (Credit: CMS Photo/John Davison)


John Davison

Long-time RIS staffer, beginning in the mid-80s. Charlotte, NC area local contact.

Read More on Oval Track press releases
Volume 2015, Issue 6, Posted 1:15 AM, 07.01.2015