LONG BEACH, Calif. (June 26, 2015) – Motorsports fans have voted the Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach among the world’s 10 best motorsports races, in an online poll conducted by USA TODAY and

Results of the 10Best Readers’ Choice Award for Best Motorsports Race were released today, with voting having ended Monday, June 22.

“It is extremely gratifying to know that motorsports fans around the world see our event as one of the best in the world,” said Jim Michaelian, president and CEO of the Grand Prix Association of Long Beach. “Our thanks to them for voting for us in the poll, and we look forward to once again delivering a world-class event for the 42nd time next April.”

Other motorsports events in the top 10 included the Indianapolis 500, Baja 1000, 12 Hours of Sebring and Singapore Grand Prix.

The 10Best Readers’ Choice Award contest allows the public to vote online for one nominee per day over four weeks for a variety of categories. On the Friday after voting ends, winners are revealed. Nominees are chosen by a panel of relevant experts which include a combination of editors from USA TODAY; editors from; relevant expert contributors, and sources for both these media and other Gannett properties. All voting is digital and the 10Best Readers’ Choice Award contest is accessible on the website. 

The Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach, which will run for the 42nd time on April 15-17, 2016, is the longest-running street race in North America and has featured racing from Formula 1, CART, Champ Car and IndyCar over the course of its history. Attracting approximately 180,000 fans annually, the race is a fixture on Southern California’s sports landscape.

The 2016 Grand Prix will feature the Verizon IndyCar Series and TUDOR United SportsCar Championship, with more support races to be announced in the near future. For more information, visit or call (888) 827-7333.


Dusty Brandel

President of the American Auto Racing Writers and Broadcasters Association, Inc. Worked with Mike Hollander since Tapsis, Compuserve, etc. and has posted to the website since the beginning. First Female photo-journalist to be given a garage and pit pass for the NASCAR garage, 1972 at Ontario Motor Speedway. One of first seven female writers, photographers given access to the Indianapolis Motor Speedway garage and pits in 1971. Past President of Greater Los Angeles Press Club, 1992-96, and first female editor of the 8-Ball publication for the Press Club

Read More on Sports Car news
Volume 2015, Issue 6, Posted 4:04 PM, 06.26.2015