ISW Rain Rules "The Burg"

Trucks try and save the track @ Lawrenceburg as the rain falls. PHOTO- Speedblur101

LAWRENCEBURG IN JULY 13, 2014 -RIS- The weather was the story at Lawrenceburg and It was a case of it being too good to give up and too bad to race. Showers had visited Lawrenceburg in the afternoon but didn't prevent the start of round three of Indiana Sprint Week.

Qualifying went as planned and fast time went to Chase Stockon with a 13.26 second effort. Bryan Clauson was second fast with a 13.797 second lap. During qualifying Ted Hines took a trip to the wall during his qualifying attempt which looked like a mechanical failure, perhaps a problem related to his crash at Kokomo the night before.

The first three heats were run with Jerett Andretti, C. J. Leary and Kevin Thomas Jr. were winners. During the third heat a light rain began to fall and as the fourth heat was pushed off it got heavier so the the heat was delayed.

For two hours the the rain would abate and then return. Twice the fourth heat was called to staging and then sent back as the rain increased.

Finally after ten PM the event was rained out. There will be no make-up date.

So it will be time to head out west to Terre Haute and the “Action Track” next Wednesday for race four.

Results Courtesy USAC

AMSOIL USAC NATIONAL SPRINT CAR RACE RESULTS: July 13, 2014 - Lawrenceburg, Indiana - Lawrenceburg Speedway - 27th "Indiana Sprint Week"

QUALIFICATIONS: 1. Chase Stockon, 32, 32 TBI-13.626; 2. Bryan Clauson, 20, Stewart/Curb-Agajanian-13.797; 3. Jerry Coons Jr., 10E, Edison-13.866; 4. Dave Darland, 71p, Phillips-13.869; 5. Scotty Weir, 18x, Keen-13.873; 6. Tracy Hines, 4, Hines-13.909; 7. Robert Ballou, 12x, Ballou-13.934; 8. Justin Grant, 40, Hery-13.958; 9. Shane Cottle, 2E, Epperson-13.987; 10. Hunter Schuerenberg, 20N, Schuerenberg/Nolen-13.992; 11. Brady Bacon, 69, Dynamics-14.031; 12. Aaron Farney, 15F, Farney-14.047; 13. Chris Windom, 11, Walker-14.068; 14. C.J. Leary, 30, Leary-14.077; 15. Kevin Thomas Jr., 9k, KT-14.093; 16. Casey Shuman, 21k, Krockenberger-14.161; 17. Richard Vander Weerd, 10, Vander Weerd-14.181; 18. Brody Roa, 91, BR-14.196; 19. Jace Vander Weerd, 88, Vander Weerd-14.211; 20. Jon Stanbrough, 37RW, Dutcher-14.223; 21. Jarett Andretti, 18, Andretti-14.241; 22. Daron Clayton, 3R, Byram-14.267; 23. Joss Moffatt, 5J, Moffatt-14.282; 24. Chase Briscoe, 5B, Briscoe-14.283; 25. Brady Short, 11p, Pottorff-14.307; 26. Landon Simon, 24, Simon-14.319; 27. Logan Jarrett, 29, Jarrett-14.324; 28. Jay Waugh, 99a, Waugh-14.345; 29. Travis Hery, 21H, Hery-14.377; 30. Thomas Meseraull, 41, SST-14.399; 31. Mark Smith, 1M, Smith-14.409; 32. Shawn Westerfeld, 89, Westerfeld-14.412; 33. Chad Boespflug, 57, Hazen-14.459; 34. Dickie Gaines, 4p, Pedersen-14.497; 35. Gary Taylor, 4G, Cook-14.515; 36. Ethan Barrow, 15, Barrow-14.568; 37. Shane Cockrum, 66, Amati-14.613; 38. Logan Hupp, 94, Hupp-14.618; 39. Tyler Courtney, 21x, Pollock-14.730; 40. David Applegate, 11D, Applegate-14.800; 41. Nathan Moore, 48, Moore-14.818; 42. Michael Fischesser, 4F, Fischesser-15.065; 43. Adam Cruea, 83x, Cruea-15.084; 44. Ted Hines, 12, Hines-NT.

FIRST HEAT: (8 laps - no pojnts) 1. Andretti, 2. Windom. 3. R.Vander Weerd, 4. Cottle, 5. Weir, 6. Stockon, 7. Short, 8. Cockrum, 9. Boespflug, 10. Moore, 11. Hery.

SECOND HEAT: (8 laps - no points) 1. Leary, 2. Clayton, 3. Clauson, 4. Schuerenberg, 5. Tracy Hines, 6. Roa, 7. Gaines, 8. Fischesser, 9. Simon, 10. Hupp, 11. Meseraull. NT

THIRD HEAT: (8 laps - no points) 1. Thomas, 2. Ballou, 3. Coons, 4. Bacon, 5. Jarrett, 6. Moffatt, 7. J.Vander Weerd, 8. Courtney, 9. Smith, 10. Cruea, 11. Taylor. NT



NEW AMSOIL NATIONAL SPRINT POINTS: 1-Bacon-1,160, 2-Darland-1,157, 3-Stanbrough-1,070, 4-Clauson-1,066, 5-Stockon-1,041, 6-Tracy Hines-999, 7-Grant-970, 8-Windom-927, 9-Schuerenberg-909, 10-Leary-802.

NEW INDIANA SPRINT WEEK POINTS: 1-Darland-188, 2-Windom-186, 3-Grant-184, 4-Clauson-164, 5-Stanbrough-163, 6-Bacon-162, 7-Stockon-152, 8-Tracy Hines-149, 9-Ballou & Schuerenberg-141.

NEXT AMSOIL NATIONAL SPRINT RACE: July 16- Terre Haute (IN) Action Track - 27th Indiana Sprint Week"

Ed Hollowell

Reporter for RIS since 1996. Photo since 2002.

Read More on Oval Track news
Volume 2014, Issue 7, Posted 1:16 AM, 07.14.2014