TOPEKA, KS (May 25, 2014) – Courtney Force and the Traxxas Ford Mustang made more history at the 26th annual NHRA Kansas Nationals racing to victory and claiming the 100th pro win by a female in the history of the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series. Force outran Cruz Pedregon in the final after dispatching Dale Creasy Jr., Jeff Arend, and Tommy Johnson Jr. leading up to the final.

“I think my rookie year I didn’t know where I was supposed to be. I didn’t have any frame of reference as far as the Mello Yello points. Now I know when we are at this point in the season we all start thinking about how this was so different than last year or the year before in my rookie season. That starts to weigh on you. Getting to the final last weekend was huge accomplishment,” said Courtney Force on reflecting on how important this win was. “All my guys told me they cheered just because they got to the final. It just means that our Funny Car is turning around and we are getting things turned around. Next weekend is a new weekend in Englishtown and it will be a new weekend to get after it again. Robert has had so many finals in a row I was shocked to not see him beside me.  For John Force Racing it was a huge milestone too.”

For the fifth time in 2014 JFR has raced to the Winner’s Circle. Courtney Force joins four-time winner Robert Hight and Winternationals winner John Force in extending the JFR finals streak to fifteen races. With this win, Courtney Force also put a 55” flat screen TV in the hands of Rolanda Fuemmeler, of St. Joseph, Missouri, compliments of BrandSource and the “Win with Force” promotion. This was the sixth TV given away in the first eight races of the season for JFR.

Force qualified in the No. 1 spot this weekend with a solid 4.009 ET. She also set the track record mph with a pass of 322.96 mph.

At each NHRA national event when a JFR team qualifies No. 1 a lucky fan that has signed up at the JFR “Win with Force” display located in Nitro Alley will be eligible to win the BrandSource No. 1 Qualifier Award, a front loading washer and dryer set.  If a JFR driver wins the event a different fan will win the 55” flat screen TV Winner’s Circle Award from BrandSource.  At the end of the season a grand prize winner of the “Win with Force” Sweepstakes will be awarded a 2014 Ford Escape S-Series.

Thanks to a winning season by John Force Racing in 2013, BrandSource gave away eight flat-screen televisions and nine washers & dryers to lucky fans. More than 24,000 race fans registered to win prizes at the “Win with Force” display in NHRA’s Nitro Alley. Another 91,000 fans signed up online at BrandSource.com.

Fans can sign up to win at the John Force Racing interactive midway display or at thousands of BrandSource stores across the country. The 53-foot trailer display will be in the Nitro Alley area of every NHRA Mello Yello Series national event in 2014. The “Win with Force” promotion now includes JFR team partners Castrol, BrandSource, Ford, Traxxas and Mac Tools, all joining together to create an incredible promotion for the fans.

Dusty Brandel

President of the American Auto Racing Writers and Broadcasters Association, Inc. Worked with Mike Hollander since Tapsis, Compuserve, etc. and has posted to the website since the beginning. First Female photo-journalist to be given a garage and pit pass for the NASCAR garage, 1972 at Ontario Motor Speedway. One of first seven female writers, photographers given access to the Indianapolis Motor Speedway garage and pits in 1971. Past President of Greater Los Angeles Press Club, 1992-96, and first female editor of the 8-Ball publication for the Press Club

Read More on Drag Racing press releases
Volume 2014, Issue 5, Posted 10:27 AM, 05.27.2014