SCORE International Announces Three-Race Series For 2013

SCORE International Announces Three-Race Series For 2013
SCORE Desert Championship Series Will Focus On Mexico Racing Legacy With Three Baja Races 

    LOS ANGELES—Preparing to celebrate its 40th year as the world’s foremost desert racing sanctioning body, SCORE International today officially announced the 2013 SCORE Desert Championship Series schedule, which will consist of the three traditional major desert races held on Mexico’s majestic Baja Peninsula.
     “We are excited to offer the racing community a three-race SCORE Desert Championship Series in 2013 that involves only our legendary Baja races. These three races have always been the cornerstones of SCORE.” said Sal Fish, CEO/President of SCORE International.
     Fish continued, “I want to focus my attention on the heart and soul of SCORE, which is in Baja. We have thoroughly enjoyed nearly 20 years of racing in Nevada, but for a variety of significant reasons, these races are no longer viable events for SCORE.”
     “There are several organizations offering desert races in the United States to satisfy that market, but there is no organization offering the extreme adventure and intense competition of SCORE Baja racing, and that’s why SCORE will concentrate its efforts south of the border,” said Fish.
     The first race of the 2013 SCORE Desert Championship Series will be the 27th MasterCraft Safety Tecate SCORE San Felipe 250, March 8-10 in San Felipe.
     Round 2 will be the 45th Tecate SCORE Baja 500, May 31 - June 2 in Ensenada.
     The season will conclude November 14-17 with the 46th Tecate SCORE Baja 1000, the granddaddy of all desert races, which will start and finish in Ensenada.
     The SCORE Series features 36 Pro and 6 Sportsman classes for cars, trucks, buggies, motorcycles and ATVs. All classes will run in the three-race 2013 SCORE Desert Championship Series.
     This season will end with the 45th Anniversary of the Tecate SCORE Baja 1000 Peninsula Run, to be held November 14-17, starting in Ensenada and finishing in La Paz.
     The drawing for starting positions will be held on Saturday, October 6 at the SCOREVILLE exhibition inside of the Off-Road Expo at the Pomona Fairplex in Pomona, California.
     The Tecate SCORE Baja 1000 entry form, schedule of events, and prerunning information was recently published on the SCORE website. The entry fee was not increased and remains at 2007 levels for a peninsula run race.
     Tecate Beer is the title sponsor of the three SCORE Baja races.
     MasterCraft Safety is co-title sponsor of the MasterCraft Safety Tecate SCORE San Felipe 250.
Official Sponsors of the SCORE Desert Series are:
-Tecate Beer, Official Beer
-BFGoodrich Tires, Official Tire
-Volkswagen of America, Official Vehicle
-Sunoco Race Fuels, Official Race Fuel
-Coca-Cola, Official Soft Drink
-Slime, Official Tire Sealant
-Symons Ambulance Company, Official Ambulance
-Volaris Airlines, Official Airline
-Lightforce Performance Lighting, Official Driving Light
-Maxtrax, Official Vehicle Recovery Device
-Bilstein, Official Shock Absorber
-Instant Mexico Auto Insurance, Official Mexican Auto Insurance
     Additional SCORE Sponsors are – Baja California Sur Tourism, Proturismo Ensenada, Baja California Secretary of Tourism, COTUCO Mexicali/San Felipe, Blue C Advertising, SignPros, PCI Race Radios, McKenzie’s Performance Products and Advanced Color Graphics.
     For more information, contact SCORE at its Los Angeles headquarters 818.225.8402 or visit the official website at   2013 SCORE Desert Championship Series
Schedule of Events
  27th MasterCraft Safety Tecate SCORE San Felipe 250
March 8-10 / San Felipe, Baja California, Mexico
  45th Tecate SCORE Baja 500
May 31-June 2 / Ensenada, Baja California, Mexico
  46th Tecate SCORE Baja 1000
November 14-17 / Ensenada, Baja California, Mexico
  SCORE Awards Night
December 7 / Location to be Determined
    SCORE MEDIA CONTACT: Dominic Clark,  

Dusty Brandel

President of the American Auto Racing Writers and Broadcasters Association, Inc. Worked with Mike Hollander since Tapsis, Compuserve, etc. and has posted to the website since the beginning. First Female photo-journalist to be given a garage and pit pass for the NASCAR garage, 1972 at Ontario Motor Speedway. One of first seven female writers, photographers given access to the Indianapolis Motor Speedway garage and pits in 1971. Past President of Greater Los Angeles Press Club, 1992-96, and first female editor of the 8-Ball publication for the Press Club

Read More on Rally & Off-Road
Volume 2012, Issue 7, Posted 7:32 PM, 08.10.2012