First Female driver since 1984 wins at Pikes Peak on record-set​ting day; Randy Schranz sets new mark with 37th event finish and a win!

First Female driver since 1984 wins at Pikes Peak on record-set​ting day; Randy Schranz sets new mark with 37th event finish and a win!


Nobuhiro (“Monster’) Tajima of Japan has broken the all-time record at the Pikes Peak International Hill Climb this afternoon with a blistering 9:51.278 (world record) over the 12.42 mile course that ends at the 14,110-foot summit of the mountain above Colorado Springs. His effort eclipsed his old mark of 10:01.4 set in 2007 in the Unlimited Division. The 60-year-old Tajima drove his 910hp Monster Sport SX4 Hill Climb Special to victory and became the first competitor to eclipse 10:00 since the race began in 1916. He averaged almost 76 miles per hour during his record run.

Rhys Millen (Hyundai Genesis) came in second at 10:09.30 after suffering brake problems. Rookie Jean-Philippe Dayraut of France clocked 10:17.707 in the Unlimited division in his first appearance on the mountain.

60-year-old Rod Millen came back to the race for the first time since 1999 to win the Time Attack 2WD division in 11:04.912. The New Zealander was a five-time champion on Pikes Peak during his career and won eight class championships.


Brianne Corn of San Marcos, Texas, one of a record five females to enter the race, surprised the field in the Time Attack 4WD division, winning the class with a clocking of 11:56.422.

She is the first female to win at Pikes Peak since Michele Mouton of France in 1984. In 1984, France’s Michele Mouton was the first woman to win the Pikes Peak International Hill Climb.

Not only did Mouton finish the 12.42 mile course first, but she set a new record time for the event driving her Audi Quattro.(11:525.39), at the time breaking Al Unser, Jr’s over all event mark.

When the Group B category was eliminated in 1986, Mouton retired. She was intent on starting a family and gave birth to her daughter the following year. 


Randy Schranz, 63, of Colorado Springs also made history today by completing his 37th Pikes Peak finish, winning the Pikes Peak Open division with a clocking of 11:55.132. That breaks the old mark of 36 finishes set by Louis Unser.

Clint Vahsholtz of Woodland Park, Colorado, won the Super Stock Car division again with a time of 10:55.603. The former NASCAR driver extended the winning tradition of the famous racing family that now spans four decades. His father, Leonard Vahsholtz, won a record 18 titles in the event.

Motorcycle racer Davey Durelle (Elizabeth, Colorado), won the 450 CC division in 11:50.988 for his 14th class championship at Pikes Peak.


Dusty Brandel

President of the American Auto Racing Writers and Broadcasters Association, Inc. Worked with Mike Hollander since Tapsis, Compuserve, etc. and has posted to the website since the beginning. First Female photo-journalist to be given a garage and pit pass for the NASCAR garage, 1972 at Ontario Motor Speedway. One of first seven female writers, photographers given access to the Indianapolis Motor Speedway garage and pits in 1971. Past President of Greater Los Angeles Press Club, 1992-96, and first female editor of the 8-Ball publication for the Press Club

Read More on Rally & Off-Road
Volume 2011, Issue 6, Posted 1:13 AM, 06.27.2011