Indy MotoGator Pit Stop Challenge Results

INDIANAPOLIS -RIS- (May 24, 2019)  Drag racing in Indianapolis is usually relegated to O'Reilly Raceway Park (nee Indianapolis Raceway Park), but on Miller Lite Carb Day at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, a much shorter series of drag races take place.


The MotoGator Pit Stop Challenge pits the nine teams with the fastest accumulated pit stop times thus far this season in a double elimination to determine the best-of-the-best. Since 1977, this prize rewards the over-the-wall team itself - the fuelers, tire changers and ventmen.


Today, for the first time in fifteen years, a team other than Team Penske (which was shut out in the semifinals) and Chip Ganassi Racing won the championship. The last non-Penske/Ganassi team to win was Rahal Letterman Racing in 2004.


Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports and rookie driver Marcus Ericsson beat last year's challenge winners, Chip Ganassi Racing and driver Scott Dixon, in a best-of-three rounds to claim victory.


Ericsson is the first rookie driver to win since Buddy Rice in 2003.


ROUND 1   Q'TER FINAL   SEMI-FNL   FINAL   Race 1   Race 2   Race 3   CHAMPION
#24 Karam                            
    #22 Karam                        
#77 Servia       #9 Dixon                    
    #9 Dixon                        
            #9 Dixon *            
    #5 Hinchcliffe                        
        #5 Hinchcliffe                    
    #30 Sato                        
                #7 Ericsson   #9 Dixon   #7 Ericsson   #7 Ericsson
    #7 Ericsson                        
        #7 Ericsson                    
    #2 Newgarden                        
            #7 Ericsson                
    #10 Rosenqvist                        
        #12 Power                    
    #12 Power                        

Tom Beeler

Tom has been a contributor to RIS since 1992, and has covered IndyCar, Formula 1, NASCAR, Grand-Am, ALMS and the 24 Hours of Le Mans. In addition to his RIS work, Tom has been a contributor for General Motors, Nissan, Toyota and the ACO.

Read More on Indy Car news
Volume 2019, Issue 5, Posted 4:03 PM, 05.24.2019