Car Chiefs Face Suspensions for the Daytona 500

DAYTONA BEACH, FL - RIS - Car Chiefs for Austin Dillon (No. 3 Chevrolet), Chase Elliot (No. 9 Chevrolet), and Ty Dillon (No. 13 Chevrolet) have been ejected for the rest of Daytons Speedweeks.  All these cars failed pre-qualifying twice today.  Drivers also lose 15 minutes of final practice time.  This means they are gone for the Daytona 500.

All three cars passed inspection on the third try.

Greg Ebert (Austin Dillon), Billy Plorde (Ty Dillon), Josh Kirk (Elliott) are the car chiefs.

This is a new rule for 2019.  When a team fails inspection, two times, they lose a team member.  The same penalty in 2018 was three failures.  These car chiefs were lost for qualifying earlier today as well as the Daytona 500.

Ron Fleshman

RIS NASCAR Editor.  Has been with RIS since the middle 90's. Writes on each of the three main series of NASCAR.

Read More on Cup / XFINITY / Truck news
Volume 2019, Issue 2, Posted 5:56 PM, 02.10.2019