Chase Elliott Wins Second Can Am Duel at Daytona

Getty Images

DAYTONA BEACH, FL – RIS - Chase Elliott held off Kevin Harvick in the last two laps to win Thursday’s second Can-Am qualifying duel for the Daytona 500 on Sunday.  Denny Hamlin led most of the race prior to Elliott’s pass at Lap 16.  From then on it was follow the leader until near the end.

Elliott led 34 laps to win his second straight Daytona 500 qualifying race, winning one of the two races in last year’s Speedweeks.  Elliott has never won a points-paying Cup race, but now owns two wins in qualifying races at Daytona International Speedway.

The top five was completed by Erik Jones, Clint Bowyer and Kyle Busch.

Jones passed Bowyer in the final lap for second place before taking the checkered flag.

“I was kind of trying a bunch of stuff, I didn’t really know what to do,” Elliott told Fox Sports 1. “This new package is a little different and the way these cars draft is a little strange to what we’ve seen in the past. I don’t know that anyone has it 100 percent figured out. I think we’re all trying to learn and see what the best position it to be in and when you want to be there.”

Elliott will start the Daytona 500 in fourth starting position.

Harvick finished second after passing Hamlin in Turns 1 and 2 with two laps to go.  He could never get a run at Elliott who was helped by the activity behind him.

“I knew it was going to take two moves there, I had to try to get by Denny before I was going to have a chance to win the race,” Harvick said. “We were able to make that move pretty good and then the 21 (Paul Menard) and the 14 (Clint Bowyer) got side-by side over there. Clint got to my bumper, but my car was so loose I didn’t want to pull it really hard to the right because it felt like it was going to spin out all night.”

Harvick will start sixth in the Daytona 500.

Pos, St, Driver, Car, Laps

1) 5, Chase Elliott, No. 9 NAPA Auto Parts Chevrolet, 60

2) 4, Kevin Harvick, No. 4 Jimmy John's Ford, 60

3) 3, Erik Jones, No. 20 Dewalt Toyota, 60

4) 8, Clint Bowyer, No. 14 Rush Truck Centers/Mobil 1 Ford, 60

5) 2, Kyle Busch , No. 18 M&M'S Toyota, 60

6) 7, Austin Dillon, No. 3 Dow Chevrolet, 60

7) 6, Paul Menard, No. 21 Omnicraft Auto Parts \ Quick Lane Tire & Auto Center Ford, 60

8) 10, Trevor Bayne, No. 6 Advocare Ford, 60

9) 1, Denny Hamlin, No. 11 FedEx Express Toyota, 60

10) 15, AJ Allmendinger, No. 47 Kroger Click List Chevrolet, 60

11) 12, Michael McDowell, No. 34 Love's Travel Stops Ford, 60

12) 13, Martin Truex Jr., No. 78 Bass Pro Shops/5-Hour Energy Toyota, 60

13) 9, Kasey Kahne, No. 95 Procore Chevrolet, 60

14) 14, Danica Patrick, No. 7 Godaddy Chevrolet, 60

15) 17, D.J. Kennington, No. 96 Lordco/Castrol Toyota, 58

16) 19, Corey Lajoie, No. 72 Schluter Systems Chevrolet, 58

17) 20, Gray Gaulding, No. 23 TBD Toyota, 755

18) 18, Mark Thompson, No. 66 Phoenix Air Racing Ford, 32

19) 16, Matt Dibenedetto, No. 32 The Hurricane Heist Ford, 11

20) 11, Kyle Larson, No. 42 Credit One Bank Chevrolet, 11

Ron Fleshman with John Davison

RIS NASCAR Editor.  Has been with RIS since the middle 90's. Writes on each of the three main series of NASCAR.

Read More on Cup / XFINITY / Truck news
Volume 2018, Issue 2, Posted 11:11 PM, 02.15.2018