Moses Claims NCRA Victory; Powers Earns Championship!

It was a night of excitement, heartbreak, jubilation and disappointment as the National Championship Racing Association of Park City, Kansas presented by Precise Racing Products modified division wrapped up their 2014 race season Saturday night at 81 Speedway in Park City, Kansas and when it was said and done it was Darren Moses picking up his first career series feature victory while Dan Powers held on to claim his first ever series championship.

Moses and Jon Thompson started on the front row for the thirty lap feature and it was Thompson who took the lead as the green flag fell. It was an ideal starting position for Thompson as he came into the finale just twenty points behind Powers in the point standings.

The feature barley got one lap complete when several caution flags slowed the pace of the event and once racing action finally resumed it was Thompson on a mission as he quickly opened a half stretch lead by lap two. Third starting Jason McGehee, Moses and Jace Waddell tried to give chase as the Superior, Nebraska veteran worked the top side of the three-eighths mile had his #75 dialed in.

Richard Wilson would bring out the final caution on lap five as he came to a stop at the top of turn four. When racing action resumed, Thompson again throttled away from the rest of the field and by the races midway point had opened a commanding full straightaway lead over Moses.

Meanwhile, current point leader Powers, who started sixth, seemed to struggle to gain any positions and was watching his hopes for a championship slip away as Thompson had enough cars between him and Powers to earn his first career series championship.

With nine laps to go Thompsons’ hope of victory and championship went up in smoke as his motor expired coming down the front stretch, ending his night with a very disappointing 14th place finish.

Moses inherited the lead yet Powers hopes of a championship was still in question as defending champion Marc Hurd, who came into the night just 35 points out of the point lead, had worked his way up from his eleventh starting position into fourth. Hurd finished fourth in his heat and won the fist “b” feature and was two positions ahead of Powers with five laps left, still having a shot to at least claim a tie for the championship.

Back up front McGhee would make a run after the leader but just couldn’t make his way around and Moses would go on to claim his first career series victory and a $1000 pay day.

McGehee settled for second while Hurd worked his way to a third place finish. Brochu came home fourth while 13th starting Tanner Mullens worked his way up to round out the top five.

Meanwhile, a sixth place finish was all that Powers would need to claim his championship by a slim ten points over Hurd. He would join his father, Brian, as only the second father-son dual to claim a series championship, joining sprint car drivers Jon Johnson and C.J. Johnson.

The four, ten lap heat races were won by Powers; Moses; Thompson and Brochu while Hurd and Hodge would claim the two, twelve lap “B” features.

John Motal

Retired, living the good life in Arizona.

Read More on Oval Track press releases
Volume 2014, Issue 10, Posted 8:43 PM, 10.26.2014