Hamilton wins US Grand Prix in Texas

Lewis Hamilton sprays champagne after his win at the US Grand Prix in Austin, Texas Sunday. Photo courtesy of Getty Images.

AUSTIN, Texas-Back in 2007, Lewis Hamilton won the US Grand Prix at Indianapolis, which was the last time the country held a formula one race. On Sunday at the inaugural race at Austin, Texas, Hamilton took the honors again, by passing series leader Sebastian Vettel with 14 laps to go. Fernando Alonso took third, and trails Vettel by 13 points with the final race of the 2012 season next weekend in Brazil.

“I am so happy; the fans here have been great thank you so much.” Stated Hamilton afterwards. “I think that this is one of the best grands prix all year and for me and my team, this is so special.

Vettel got off to a clean start at the beginning of the race, with no incidents going uphill to the famous turn one. The German managed to increase his lead early to just over two seconds by the ninth lap. By the tenth lap, Hamilton overtook Mark Webber, and open air, began to chase Vettel for the lead.

Frenchman Jean Eric Vergne became the first retirement of the race as his Toro Rosso entry encountered suspension trouble and had to retire on lap 16. But Webber became the final retirement of the day as the Australian developed an alternator failure on his Red Bull. From then on, It was a battle between Hamilton and Vettel, which came down to 2.6 seconds by lap 20. The Englishman edged closer and closer and on lap 42, caught Vettel down the back straightaway, utilizing his DRS system, passing the two time world champion for good. Although Vettel tried to challenge for the last laps of the race, his time was identical to Hamilton’s and with Alonso in third, clinched the constructor’s world championship, but now will have to go to Brazil at the race in Interlagos 13 points ahead of the Spaniard.

Despite losing the team title, Ferrari’s Felipe Massa finished in fourth, while Jenson Button was fifth. The Lotus pair of Kimi Raikkonen and Romain Grosjean was sixth and seventh, respectively. Nico Hulkenberg was eighth, while the Williams pair of Pastor Maldanado and Bruno Senna rounded out the top ten.

Hamilton was thrilled, and considering that he will move on to Mercedes next year, he believed this victory was long in coming.

“It has been a long time for a win, and I am grateful for all the support that we have had.” He concluded.

Mark Gero

A 12 year veteran writer who has covered race weekends for RIS for three years. Also did the same for motorsport.com.For the last two years, I have been a member of AARWBA.

Read More on Formula 1 news
Volume 2012, Issue 10, Posted 4:46 PM, 11.18.2012